Watson, McNamara garner Honorable Mention All-America accolades
Tuesday, December 5, 2017
Watson, McNamara garner Honorable Mention All-America accolades
Brian McNamara (above) and Tyler Watson garnered Honorable Mention All-America honors on Tuesday from the NAIA. (Credit Steve Wampler)

LEBANON, Tenn. – Cumberland freshman Tyler Watson and senior Brian McNamara were voted Honorable Mention All-Americans by the NAIA Men’s Soccer Selection Committee on Tuesday, as announced by the national office. The duo joins Sondre Risa as the only All-Americans in program history.

McNamara ranked third in the Mid-South Conference in goals with 16 and fourth in points with 37, adding five assists in 20 matches. The Kildare, Ireland, native netted 11 of his 16 goals against Mid-South competition, including a hat trick versus Georgetown College and two goals against the University of the Cumberlands, Lindsey Wilson and the University of Pikeville.

Watson was voted the Mid-South Conference Freshman of the Year and finished the season with nine goals and five assists. He ranked 11th in the Mid-South in goals and seventh in assists. The Simi Valley, Calif., native scored the game-winner in a 2-0 victory versus Martin Methodist and recorded three goals and two assists in seven league matches.

2017 NAIA Men's Soccer All-America Teams

GK – Dusan Djordjev, Oklahoma Wesleyan
D – Matt Redgrave, William Carey
D – Nikola Fimic, Oklahoma Wesleyan
D – Uros Ilic, Missouri Valley College
MF – Thomas Greco, St. Thomas University [FL]
MF – Stefan Lukic, Oklahoma Wesleyan
MF – Adrian Gutierrez, Central Methodist
F – Federico Moronell, St. Thomas University [FL]
F – Alberto Picchi, Oklahoma Wesleyan
F – Tyler Collishaw, Lindsey Wilson
F – Daniel Whitehall, Hastings College

GK – Joe White, Hastings College
D – Lamine Conte, University of Mobile
D – Josh Constant, Westmont College
D – Santiago Sierra, Central Methodist
MF – Guillermo Chincilla, Marymount University [CA]
MF – Joaquin Ruiz Cabello, William Carey
MF – Steve Pouna, Baker University
MF – James McLaren, Missouri Valley College
F – Joao Costa, Truett-McConnell
F – Adam Janes, Benedictine University
F – Josep Morego, Marymount University [CA]

GK – Nicolau Neto, Columbia College [MO]
D – Erik Tello, Hastings College
D – Nathan Miramontes, Vanguard University
D – Alex Castillo, Wayland Baptist
D – Joe Guinchard, William Carey
MF – Pascal Debowiak, Northwestern Ohio
MF – Eduardo Zurita, University of Rio Grande
MF – Benjamin Tembo, The Master’s University
F – Aleksander Simovic, Oklahoma Wesleyan
F – Mutaya Mwape, Lindsey Wilson
F – Blake Levine, Baker University

Joe Smith, Madonna University
Guilherme Altoe, University of Mobile
Brandon Gomez, Vanguard University
Alberto Ciroi, Baker University
Santiago Amigo, Lawrence Tech
Harry Robinson, Northwestern Ohio
Nathaniel Bedai, University of Mobile
Alberto Pitarch, William Woods
Elvis Barclay, Columbia College [MO]
Francisco Neto, West Virginia Tech
Matheus Louzada, Huntington University
Liam Heywood, Cardinal Stritch
Tumi Moshobane, Olivet Nazarene
Marc Tautz, Hastings College
Kebba Demba, Bethel University
Michael Conejero, William Carey
Paul Ledsham, University of Mobile
Gustavo Rodrigues, Southeastern University
Stefan Milicivic, Oklahoma Wesleyan
Sebastian Cortez, Vanguard University
Lucas Loureiro, Southwestern Christian
James Quinn, Wayland Baptist
Tyler Watson, Cumberland University
Marco Kuemmerle, Rocky Mountain College
Anthony Moscatello, William Woods
Adam du Toit, Columbia College [MO]
Edgar Guzman, Bellevue University
Michael Weber, Georgia Gwinnett
Jack Gurr, Georgia Gwinnett
Simone Raiola, Grand View University
Yuri Farkas, Madonna University
Morris Kamara, Spring Arbor
Glauber Oliveira, Indiana Wesleyan
Jose Garcia, Roosevelt University
Nedin Zukanovic, Marymount University [CA]
Adrian Delgado, Our Lady of the Lake
Espen Hansen, Houston-Victoria
Santiago Moore, Dalton State College
Mustapha Wadds, Bethel University
Jarom Farnsworth, Faulkner University
Chance Bourdene, William Carey
Martin Arrieta, Vanguard University
Dominik Tajak, Mid-America Christian
Igor Stojanovic, Southwestern Christian
Charlie Clarke, Bryan College
Brian McNamara, Cumberland University
Timur Zhividze, Corban College
Rodrigo Alves, William Woods
Michael Mayberry, Columbia College [MO]