Marcelo voted Second Team All-American
Tuesday, May 22, 2012
Marcelo voted Second Team All-American
Antonio Manuel Marcelo was voted Second Team All-American by the NAIA. (Credit Steve Wampler)

LEBANON, Tenn. – Cumberland’s Antonio Manuel Marcelo earned Second Team All-America honors, as announced this week by the NAIA. Players were selected by the All-America committee and the list of honorees includes 16 student-athletes on each of the First and Second teams, plus 18 Honorable Mentions.

The Cascais, Portugal, native was a perfect 16-0 in dual match singles, including 15-0 at No. 1 in the lineup and 4-0 versus ranked opponents with a pair of victories over Bethel University’s Peter Baca and one win each versus Lindsey Wilson’s Fernando Bogajo and Warner University’s Julian Ramirez-Luna. He finished the academic year 18-3 overall in singles and is currently ranked 29th nationally in singles before the final ranking of the year on May 29.

Marcelo and doubles partner Evan Sanna are currently ranked 19th in the country. The duo won the ITA Southeast Regional in October and finished sixth in the ITA Small College Championships in November. Marcelo-Sanna posted a 13-3 mark in dual matches and ended the year with a 19-6 record.

First Team All-American
Aaron Hendrick, Aquinas [MI] College
Nicolas Pinones-Haltenhoff, Auburn Montgomery
Janosch Apelt, Azusa Pacific
Jochem Hoefnagels, Azusa Pacific
Bruno Santarelli, Concordia [CA] University
Chris Freeman, Embry-Riddle
Patrick Besch, Embry-Riddle
Xavier Smith, Fresno Pacific
Kirill Sinitsyn, Fresno Pacific
Frenando Bogajo, Lindsey Wilson
Bruno Tiberti, Oklahoma Christian
Martin Poboril, Oklahoma Christian
Lucas Pereira, Vanguard University
Bryan Cox, Westmont College
Jody Claassen, William Carey
Loic Didavi, Xavier [LA] University

Second Team All-American
Bence Toth, Auburn Montgomery
Carlos Anton, Campbellsville University
Antonio Manuel Marcelo, Cumberland University
Adrian Bayh, Embry-Riddle
Simon Felix, Embry-Riddle
Nathan Martinet, Fresno Pacific
Cledson Carvalho, Fresno Pacific
Vladislav Khudziy, Huntington [IN] University
Fabricio Morales, Lindsey Wilson
Jaime Sanchez-Canamares, Oklahoma Christian
Pier Pieracciani, Oklahoma Christian
Roger Muri, Vanguard University
Tim Goranson, Westmont College
Rodrigo Schaefer, Westmont College
Ricky Keppeler, William Carey
Zach Taylor, Xavier [LA] University

Honorable Mention All-American
Nik Artaev, Aquinas [MI] College
Marlu Jansen Van Cuuren, Auburn Montgomery
Joshua Reason, Auburn Montgomery
Benedikt Eger, Azusa Pacific
Frederik Wilkens, Azusa Pacific
Jefferson Nino, Belhaven University
Peter Francis, Embry-Riddle
David Spennare, Embry-Riddle
Amarit Sanchez, Fresno Pacific
Lloyd Bruce-Burgess, Fresno Pacific
Renardy Guelfi, Oklahoma Christian
Nicolas Auruccio, Oklahoma Christian
Julian Kurz, Olivet Nazarene
David Darling, Spring Arbor
Thomas Caldrone, Spring Arbor
Julian Ramirez-Luna, Warner University
Thomas Rizk, William Carey
Viktor Svoboda, Xavier [LA] University