Men's tennis drops 6-3 decision to No. 5 Lindsey Wilson
Tuesday, April 4, 2017
Men's tennis drops 6-3 decision to No. 5 Lindsey Wilson
Axel Lucich won his singles and doubles matches in CU's 6-3 loss Tuesday to Lindsey Wilson. (Credit Bob Tamboli)

LEBANON, Tenn. – Ramon Puertolas and Axel Lucich picked up singles victories and Lucich and Thiago Lopes collected a doubles win as well, but fifth-ranked Lindsey Wilson swept the remaining matches in a 6-3 victory over No. 23 Cumberland in men’s tennis action Tuesday at the Tommy Gray Memorial Courts.

Lucich and Lopes defeated Filip Persson and Javier Raya at No. 2 in doubles for the Phoenix (3-5, 1-2 Mid-South), but LWC’s Denis Porcic and Tomas Depiaggio posted an 8-6 win at No. 1 versus Riccardo Ferraris and Puertolas and the Blue Raiders (14-5, 5-0) held a 2-1 advantage in the match with an 8-5 win at No. 3 doubles by Alonso Tellez and Ivan Solans Diaz against Alejandro Rosas Garcia and Jose Ortega Vela.

Third-ranked Porcic defeated Ferraris, 6-1, 6-2, at No. 1 singles and Solans Diaz posted a 6-2, 6-4, win at No. 2 against Rosas Garcia while 50th-ranked Depiaggio collected a 6-1, 6-4, triumph at No. 3 versus Lopes. Cobi Ho picked up the other LWC singles win with an 8-3 decision at No. 6 over Ortega Vela.

Puertolas led his match, 6-4, 4-0, when Tellez retired at No. 4 and Lucich recorded a 6-3, 2-6, 10-6, victory, at No. 5 over Raya.

Cumberland finishes the regular season with four straight road matches beginning this weekend, traveling to Georgetown College on Friday and Shawnee State on Saturday.

#5 Lindsey Wilson 6, #23 Cumberland Univ. 3

1. #3 Denis Porcic (LWC) def. Riccaro Ferraris (CU), 6-1, 6-2
2. Ivan Solans Diaz (LWC) def. Alejandro Rosas Garcia (CU), 6-2, 6-4
3. #50 Tomas Depiaggio (LWC) def. Thiago Lopes (CU), 6-1, 6-4
4. Ramon Puertolas (CU) def. Alonso Tellez (LWC), 6-4, 4-0, retired
5. Axel Lucich (CU) def. Javier Raya (LWC), 6-3, 2-6, 10-6
6. Cobi Ho (LWC) def. Jose Ortega Vela (CU), 8-3

1. Porcic-Depiaggio (LWC) def. Ferraris-Puertolas (CU), 8-6
2. Lucich-Lopes (CU) def. Filip Persson-Raya (LWC), 8-5
3. Tellez-Solans Diaz (LWC) def. Rosas Garcia-Ortega Vela (CU), 8-5