Bleaken places seventh, earns All-America honors
Wednesday, March 18, 2009
LEBANON, Tenn. – Cumberland’s Corey Bleaken finished seventh at 149, earning All-America honors, and the Bulldogs placed 19th overall at the NAIA National Wrestling Championship in Oklahoma City, Okla., earlier this month.
Bleaken, a junior from Clifton, N.J., garnered his second All-America accolade after placing third in the same weight class two years ago. He becomes the seventh Bulldog All-American in the last five years.
Bleaken won his first round by Fall at 6:11 over Northwestern College’s Levi Price but dropped a 13-9 decision to Missouri Valley College’s fourth-ranked Brian Graham. In the backdraw Bleaken defeated University of the Cumberland’s Jeff Steele, 13-9, before dropping a 5-4 decision to Southern Oregon’s third-ranked Seth Roy.
Bleaken wrestled Embry-Riddle’s Tyler Chang for seventh place, winning 5-4.
Three other Bulldogs won at least two matches in their weight classes, including sophomores James Casadaban, Nick Sasfy and BJ Stewart.
Casadaban defeated California Baptist’s Jarell Price, 6-5, in the first round at 157 and Dickinson State’s sixth-ranked Nick Zumwalt, 3-2, in the Round of 16. He dropped a 3-2 decision to Lindenwood’s fifth-ranked Jeremy Powell in the quarterfinals and lost by Fall at 5:38 to Missouri Baptist’s eighth-ranked Matt Collum in the backdraw. Powell won the 157 weight class over Missouri Valley’s Joe Cornejo.
Sasfy lost his first match at 165, 7-3, to Waldorf College’s Rashad Moss but rebounded with a pair of victories. He won by Fall at 2:31 over Southern Oregon’s Austin Vanderford and by Fall at 0:26 against Robert Rentfro of Hastings College before losing by Fall at 2:09 to California Baptist’s sixth-ranked Lamar Reed.
Stewart won his first match in the heavyweight division by Fall at 5:42 over Grand Valley’s Jeff Cain but dropped an 11-9 decision to Dana College’s eighth-ranked Jon Wilbourne in the Round of 16.
He came back with a victory by Fall at 5:30 against William Penn’s Ryan Groom and then by Fall at 1:53 over Brandon Hudiburgh before dropping a 19-6 decision to McKendree’s sixth-ranked Cedric Powell.
For more information and full results from the national championships, go to
125 – Round of 32
(1) Cory Borges (Montana State-Northern) def. Desean Willis (CU), T1.5;17-0;6:30
Desean Willis (CU) def. Gary Brooks (Missouri Baptist), 4-2
Paulie Hanson (Missouri Valley) def. Desean Willis (CU), 6-4
133 – Round of 32
Matt Jacobson (Dana College) def. Neil Birt (CU), 14-8
(8) Chris Utesch (Morningside College) def. Neil Birt (CU), F; Def.
141 – Round of 32
Jordan Harer (Dakota Wesleyan) def. Mikey Davis (CU), F; 1:22
(7) Eric Graham (Missouri Valley) def. Anthony Melillo (CU), F; 2:08
Anthony Melillo (CU) def. Brandon Roehrich (Jamestown College), F; 1:37
Andrew Hare (Hastings College) def. Anthony Melillo (CU), 9-6
Mikey Davis (CU) def. Nic Stella (King College), 9-7
Jason Costello (Great Falls) def. Mikey Davis (CU), F; 0:23
149 – Round of 16
(6) Corey Bleaken (CU) def. Levi Price (Northwestern College), F; 6:11
(4) Brian Graham (Missouri Valley) def. (6) Corey Bleaken (CU), 13-9
(6) Corey Bleaken (CU) def. Jeff Steele (Univ. of the Cumberlands), 13-9
(3) Seth Roy (Southern Oregon) def. (6) Corey Bleaken (CU), 5-4
(6) Corey Bleaken (CU) def. Tyler Chang (Embry-Riddle), 5-4
157 – Round of 32
Andrew Blackwell (CU) def. Aaron Lang (Morningside College), F; 5:33
James Casadaban (CU) def. Jarell Price (California Baptist), 6-5
Round of 16
(4) Tommie Hooper (Southern Oregon) def. Andrew Blackwell (CU), 17-4
James Casadaban (CU) def. (6) Nick Zumwalt (Dickinson State), 3-2
(5) Jeremy Powell (Lindenwood) def. James Casadaban (CU), 3-2
(8) Matt Collum (Missouri Baptist) def. James Casadaban (CU), F; 5:38
Jarell Price (California Baptist) def. Andrew Blackwell (CU), 11-2
165 – Round of 32
Rashad Moss (Waldorf College) def. Nick Sasfy (CU), 7-3
David Wiese (CU) def. Ty Knowler (Grand Valley), 6-1
Round of 16
(2) Stanton Schlecht (Dickinson State) def. David Wiese (CU), 13-5
Nick Sasfy (CU) def. Austin Vanderford (Southern Oregon), F; 2:31
Nick Sasfy (CU) def. Robert Rentfro (Hastings College), F; 0:26
(6) Lamar Reed (California Baptist) def. Nick Sasfy (CU), F; 2:07
Colter Dimas (Montana State-Northern) def. David Wiese (CU), 10-9
174 – Round of 32
Jameon Rush (Hastings College) def. Trey Myers (CU), 1-0
Josh Ghobadpoor (Dana College) def. Trey Myers (CU), 6-2
184 – Round of 32
Cole Spree (Northwestern College) def. Eric Metzler (CU), 7-2
Zach Anderson (Morningside College) def. Eric Metzler (CU), 10-7
285 – Round of 32
BJ Stewart (CU) def. Jeff Cain (Grand Valley), F; 5:42
Round of 16
(8) Jon Wilbourne (Dana College) def. BJ Stewart (CU), 11-9
BJ Stewart (CU) def. Ryan Groom (William Penn), F; 5:30
BJ Stewart (CU) def. Brandon Hudiburgh (Hastings College), F; 1:53
(6) Cedric Powell (McKendree) def. BJ Stewart (CU), 19-6