Two Bulldog wrestlers still in title hunt
Thursday, March 4, 2010
OKLAHOMA CITYMikey Davis and James Casadaban advanced to the round of eight and Cumberland University sits in a tie for 19th after the first day of the 53rd Annual NAIA Wrestling National Championships on the campus of Oklahoma City University.
Davis, the No. 1 wrestler at 141, defeated Mitch Newcomer of Embry Riddle (Ariz.) in the opening round with a 9-5 Decision. In the second round, the redshirt junior from Columbus, Ohio jumped out to a 5-0 lead in the first period against William Penn’s Dustin Howa before holding off a rally. Howa got to within a point at 7-6 before time ran out on an 8-6 Decision in Davis’ favor.
Casadaban dominated Jairin Potter of Hastings College in the first round, taking a 19-1 Technical Fall win just before the end of the third period. The 8th-ranked 157-pounder took a win by Decision, 8-2, in the second round over Southern Oregon’s Tommie Norton-Hooper.
Trey Myers was the only other Bulldog to win his first match in the tournament, taking an 11-2 Major Decision over Gabe Vasquez from Waldorf College at 174. Brendon DeCock of the University of Great Falls handed Myers his first loss of the Championships with a 6-5 Decision. The redshirt senior from Vandalia, Ohio bounced back in the consolation bracket with a 4-2 Decision win over Baker University’s Clarence Jordan.
Also picking up a win in the wrestleback was David Wiese, who dropped a 13-4 Major Decision at 165 to Steven Urquizo of Dickinson State. The Anchorage, Alaska native defeated Bacone College’s Cornelius Sutton with a Decision, 3-1.
B.J. Stewart was sent to the consolation bracket after falling to Bacone College’s Jeremy Colbert by a 5-3 Decision. The 10th-ranked heavyweight nearly forced overtime with a takedown at the end of the match, but it was ruled to have come after the final second ran off the clock.
Nick Sasfy was the only Cumberland grappler to be eliminated from the Championships, dropping two matches at 165. Noah Hunt, Ryan McKenzie, Neil Birt and Eric Metzler all sit at 0-1 in the tournament after the first day.
The three-day tournament continues tomorrow, with action beginning on the six mats at 10 a.m.
Noah Hunt
Lost to Mitchell Lofstedt (Southern Oregon) – F; 0:58
Ryan McKenzie
Lost to Myles Mazurkiewicz (Univ. of Great Falls) – F; 5:47
Neil Birt
Lost to Jordan Harer (Dakota Wesleyan) – D; 15-9
Mikey Davis
Def. Mitch Newcomer (Embry-Riddle [AZ]) – D; 9-5
Def. Dustin Howa (William Penn) – D; 8-6
Andy Shoultz
Lost to Levi Price (Northwestern College) – MD; 11-1
James Casadaban
Def. Jairin Potter (Hastings College) – T1.5; 19-1; 6:59
Def. Tommie Norton-Hooper (Southern Oregon) – D; 8-2
David Wiese
Lost to Steven Urquizo (Dickinson State) – MD; 13-4
Def. Cornelius Sutton (Bacone College) – D; 3-1
Nick Sasfy
Lost to Bulla Tuzon (Dana College) – MD; 15-2
Lost to Rashad Moss (Waldorf College) – D; 5-3
Trey Myers
Def. Gabe Vasquez (Waldorf College) – MD; 11-2
Lost to Brendon DeCock (Univ. of Great Falls) – D; 6-5
Def. Clarence Jordan (Baker University) – D; 4-2
Eric Metzler
Lost to Alex Calvi (Univ. of Great Falls) – MD; 13-4
BJ Stewart
Lost to Jeremy Colbert (Bacone College) – D; 5-3
Win Type Legend
D – Decision
F – Fall/Pin
T – Technical Fall
MD – Major Decision
DQ – Disqualification
FRFT – Forfeit
M FOR – Medical Forfeit
INJDEF – Injury Default