Holloway, Haddock garner Honorable Mention All-America honors
Thursday, December 6, 2018
Holloway, Haddock garner Honorable Mention All-America honors
Rebecca Holloway (left) and Sarah Haddock garnered Honorable Mention All-America accolades from the NAIA.

LEBANON, Tenn. – Cumberland’s Rebecca Holloway and Sarah Haddock were named Honorable Mention All-Americans by the NAIA on Wednesday, as announced by the national office at the conclusion of the NAIA Championships in Orange Beach, Ala.

The NAIA All-America Committee, which consists of the NAIA Women’s Soccer Coaches Association officers and seven additional women’s soccer coaches, select the three 11-member teams and the honorable mention teams.

Holloway earned Mid-South Conference Player of the Year honors for the second straight season, leading the league in goals (22), points, (53) and game-winning goals (8). The Bristol, England, native ranked 12th nationally in goals, 13th in points and sixth in game-winning goals. The senior posted six multi-goal outings this season, including four goals at Asbury University and hat tricks against Tennessee Wesleyan and the University of Pikeville.

Holloway added 10 assists, fourth-best in the conference, handing out three helpers against Shawnee State and two versus Asbury.

Haddock garnered the inaugural Defensive Player of the Year award in the Mid-South, helping Cumberland allow just 15 goals in 20 matches this season from her centerback position. The Newtonards, Northern Ireland, native scored four goals this year but the sophomore’s most important role was anchoring the CU backline, which posted 14 shutouts and allowed eight goals in 10 conference matches.

It marks the 20th and 21st NAIA All-America honor for a Cumberland player since 2012 and the third straight Honorable Mention All-America accolade for Holloway.

NAIA Women’s Soccer First Team All-Americans
F – Matilda Overberger, Keiser University
F –Bethany Balcer, Spring Arbor
F –Uchenna Kanu, Southeastern University
F –Millene Cabrel, Martin Methodist
MF – Ana Paula Santos, William Carey
MF – Filippa Millqvist, Keiser University
MF – Aisha Solarzano, Southeastern University
D – April Stewart, William Carey
D – Isamar Duran, Southeastern University
D – Molly Schmidt, Benedictine University
GK – Rachel Thigpen, Midland University

NAIA Women’s Soccer Second First Team All-Americans
F – Nayeli Rodriguez, Midland University
F – Emily Ambuul, Benedictine University
F – Riley Martinson, Embry-Riddle
MF – Veronica Kurtz, Lindsey Wilson
MF – Olivia Meyers, Benedictine University
MF – Casandra Besteman, Spring Arbor
D – Malorie Henderlong, Spring Arbor
D – Adri Jackson, Embry-Riddle
D – Muranda Baca, Vanguard University
D – Sanna Svensson, Lindsey Wilson
GK – Abby Baravik, William Carey

NAIA Women’s Soccer Third Team All-Americans
F – Nicole Kelly, Benedictine University
F – Miku Sunaga, Martin Methodist
F – Shantell Thompson, William Carey
F – Sina Cavelti, Lindsey Wilson
MF – Natsuna Sugishita, Martin Methodist
MF – Suzuho Yamasaki, Martin Methodist
MF – Breanna Larkin, Embry-Riddle
D – Amanda Annee, Marian University
D – Tova Nilsson, Keiser University
D – Alaina Melanson, Midland University
GK – Caitlyn Logan, John Brown University

NAIA Women’s Soccer Honorable Mention All-Americans
GK – Hayley Magana, Vanguard University
GK – Nina Haberlin, Keiser University
GK – Gabi Haw, Westmont College
GK – Kehley Bitzas, Culver-Stockton
GK – Cyndi Cottrell, Eastern Oregon
D – Heidi Giles, University of Mobile
D – Ruth Khasoha, Oklahoma Wesleyan
D – Aubrey Feipel, Grace College
D – Laurie Potvin, Hastings University
D – Elly Brummel, Trinity Christian
D – Joy Mertzig, Georgia Gwinnett
D – Taylor Hults, Thomas University
D – Luci Brasil, Central Methodist
D – Sarah Haddock, Cumberland University
D – Maddy Mak, Embry-Riddle
D – Valeria Miranda, William Carey
D – Lira Mathes, Martin Methodist
D – Stina Andersson, Georgia Gwinnett
MF – Julia Amador Mejias, Missouri Valley College
MF – Alanna Castaneda, MidAmerica Nazarene
MF – Marjolen Nekesa, Oklahoma Wesleyan
MF – Taylor Boyer, Eastern Oregon
MF – Cristina Ramos, Science & Arts
MF – Rebecca Holloway, Cumberland University
MF – Nicole Rodriguez, Georgia Gwinnett
MF – Linnea Axengren, Keiser University
MF – Molly Klein, Columbia College [MO]
MF – Ruby Hallam, Columbia College [SC]
MF – Kelly Stubbington, William Carey
MF – Bania Duran, Southeastern University
MF – Maxi Krug, Keiser University
MF – Rachel Topliss, Central Methodist
MF – Elena Perez, Midland University
MF – Marisol Kroencke, Cardinal Stritch
MF – Lakin Walls, Campbellsville University
MF – Sara Randez, University of the Cumberlands
MF – Maria Deeter, Concordia University [NE]
MF – Leigh Williams, Hope International
MF – Kellian Ahearn, The Master’s University
MF – Iris Rabot, Northwestern Ohio
MF – Lauren Orr, Spring Arbor
MF – Brooke Mays, Ottawa University
MF – Allison Vroon, Grace College
MF – Marielisa Hallam, Vanguard University
F – Hannah Benedict, MidAmerica Nazarene
F – Thiannon Castle de Ortega, Hastings University
F – Nicole Hawley, Cardinal Stritch
F – Selah Hopkins, Trinity Christian
F – Emma Rice, Science & Arts
F – Aspen Carpenter, John Brown University
F – Michelle Pena, Kansas Wesleyan
F – Jackie Igulu, Benedictine University-Mesa
F – Jazzmyn Esquivel, Hope International
F – Hannah Crum, Aquinas College [MI]
F – Kati-Jayde Cunningham, LSU-Shreveport
F – Katie Michkiosky, Northwest University
F – Maddi Berthoud, Westmont College
F – Hailey Gomillion, The Master’s University
F – Courtney Denney, Marian University
F – Jessica Bianchi, Trinity Christian
F – Tameir Grosvenor, Texas Wesleyan
F – Colleen Kennedy, University of Mobile
F – Savannah Jackson, Johnson & Wales [FL]
F – Dawson Brinkley, Our Lady of the Lake
F – Peyton Davis, University of Rio Grande
F – Jacquelyn Gardner, Northwestern Ohio