Greener voted NAIA Player of the Year; Four others named All-Americans
Tuesday, June 8, 2010
LEBANON, Tenn. – Seniors Matt Greener, Troy Frazier, Kris Miller and Shawn Schafer were all named First Team All-Americans by the NAIA, junior Aaron Wilkerson was a Second Team selection and Greener was voted the NAIA Player of the Year, as announced by the national office last week during the 54th Annual Avista-NAIA World Series in Lewiston, Idaho.
Greener led the nation in hits (116), RBIs (101) and total bases (225) and tied with Miller for the national lead in home runs with 27, becoming the first Bulldog player to win National Player of the Year honors. He hit safely in 61 of the 66 games in which he played this season and recorded 39 multi-hit outings, including 13 contests with three or more hits, while batting .466 overall with 26 doubles.
The Jupiter, Fla., native collected nine hits in the World Series with one double, two home runs and 10 RBIs, including a grand slam in a 13-7 victory over Point Loma Nazarene. He put together three double-digit hitting streaks during the year, including a 30-game stretch from March 7-April 16.
Miller was named the World Series Most Valuable Player, hitting four homers and driving in 10 runs during the five contests. The New Caney, Texas, native ranked second nationally in total bases (194) and third in RBIs (89) while batting .367 with 21 doubles and more walks than strikeouts (28-to-25).
Frazier was one of four Bulldogs with 20-plus home runs on the year, recording 22 homers with 67 RBIs, 14 doubles and a .366 batting average. The Louisville, Ky., native battled a hamstring injury during the conference tournament and NAIA Opening Round but came alive in Lewiston, hitting three home runs, including two in an 11-9 victory over Lee University in the winner’s bracket final.
Schaefer and Wilkerson were the only two pitchers in the nation with 14 victories.
Schafer tossed a complete game five-hitter against Oklahoma City University in the World Series, giving up just a solo homer and striking out 11. The Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, native ended the year 14-0 with a 1.57 ERA and 108 strikeouts in 108.2 innings pitched, ranking fourth nationally in strikeouts and in the Top 10 in four categories.
Wilkerson lost his first start of the year before reeling off 14 consecutive victories, with two in the World Series, including the championship game. The Waco, Texas, native allowed one run on four hits with 13 strikeouts in the World Series opener against Embry-Riddle and tossed a four-hit shutout in the final against Lee University before running into trouble in the ninth.
The righthander started a game-ending doubleplay the secured the Bulldogs second national title and gave up three runs on seven hits with seven strikeouts altogether versus Lee. For the year Wilkerson was 14-1 with a 2.13 ERA and 125 strikeouts in 101.1 innings of work, leading the nation in strikeouts and ranking eighth in ERA.
The five All-Americans give Cumberland 56 All-America honors under head coach Woody Hunt, the only Bulldog coach in the program’s four-year history that started in 1984. A complete list of the 2010 NAIA All-Americans may be found at
2010 NAIA All-Americans
First Team
1B – Shain Stoner, Southern Nazarene
2B – Cody Gaskill, Tennessee Wesleyan
SS – Nick Spears, Southern Nazarene
3B – Matt Greener, Cumberland Univ.
IF – Tyler Schunk, Univ. of Rio Grande
C – Ryan Delgado, Azusa Pacific
C – Joe Staley, Lubbock Christian
OF – Justin Lunday, York College
OF – JJ Constantino, Lee Univ.
OF – Troy Frazier, Cumberland Univ.
OF – Kris Miller, Cumberland Univ.
P – Austin Quinn, Embry-Riddle
P – Shawn Schaefer, Cumberland Univ.
P – Bruce Amende, York College
P – Justin Ennis, LSU-Shreveport
RP – Wade Broyles, Belhaven Univ.
DH – Junior Rodriguez, Lee Univ.
Second Team
1B – Ken Tezak, Saint Xavier (IL)
2B – Justin Coats, Northwood Univ.
SS – Jono Waugh, Southern Poly
3B – Kevin Hennessey, Wayland Baptist
IF – Steve Vitale, Oklahoma City Univ.
C – Brett Chamberlain, Bellevue Univ.
C – Sharif Othman, California Baptist
OF – Matty Johnson, Bellevue Univ.
OF – Kyle Lenn, Indiana Southeast
OF – Casey Solem, Dakota Wesleyan
OF – Erik Church, Jamestown College
P – Trey Krier, Mount Marty College
P – Aaron Wilkerson, Cumberland Univ.
P – Stephen Shackleford, Savannah College of Art & Design
P – Tyler Knigge, Lewis-Clark State
RP – Phillip Reamy, Embry-Riddle
DH – Brad Robbins, UVA-Wise
Honorable Mention Team (Listed by School)
Reid Spitaels, Bethel College
Brian Sharp, California Baptist
Taylor Siemens, California Baptist
Kevin Park, Dickinson State
Andrew Drummond, Huntington Univ.
Diego Robles, College of Idaho
Ben Rosen, College of Idaho
Justin Medeiros, Indiana Tech
Edder Morales, Iowa Wesleyan
Mike Davis, Lambuth Univ.
Tanner Moore, Lee Univ.
Scott Swinson, Lee Univ.
Brian Burke, Lewis-Clark State
Colby Hawk, Lewis-Clark State
Andrew Brouillette, LSU-Shreveport
Kevin Smith, LSU-Shreveport
Jason Trivett, Milligan College
Matt Holliman, Missouri Baptist
Ronald Melo, Missouri Baptist
George Ban, Missouri Valley
Jared Noteboom, Morningside College
Brad Payne, Northwestern College
Jeff Sakowski, Northwood Univ.
Anthony Lopez, Oklahoma Baptist
Chad Carman, Oklahoma City Univ.
Ryan Rowe, Robert Morris Univ.
Corey Schultz, Univ. of Saint Francis (IL)
Phillip Butler, Shawnee State
Danny Gesick, Shawnee State
David Hardin, Southern Poly
Michael Kraynak, Taylor Univ.
Max Loveland, Tennessee Wesleyan
Brandon Hedrick, Union College
Corey Rudolph, Union Univ.