Lind, Coleman, Hall voted NAIA All-Americans
Monday, June 2, 2014
Lind, Coleman, Hall voted NAIA All-Americans
Sam Lind (above), Ricky Coleman and Chris Hall were all voted NAIA All-Americans. (Credit Steve Wampler)

LEBANON, Tenn. – Cumberland’s Sam Lind earned First Team All-America honors and Ricky Coleman and Chris Hall were both voted Second Team All-Americans, as announced Monday by the national office and selected by the NAIA-Baseball Coaches Association (NAIA-BCA) All-America Selection Committee.

The trio becomes the 62nd, 63rd and 64th All-Americans in program history. Lind is the 21st player named First Team All-America and the first since Aaron Wilkerson in 2011, while Coleman and Hall are the 19th and 20th members on the Second Team and the first since Mike Mandarino, also in 2011.

Lind led the Bulldogs with a .404 batting average this season while leading the nation in hits (109), total bases (180) and RBIs (91). The Hartford, S.D., native posted 29 multi-hit and 22 multi-RBI contests during the campaign, including a pair of four-hit outings at the 2014 Avista-NAIA World Series. He batted .542 (13-for-24) in the World Series with three doubles, two home runs, 12 RBIs and six runs scored in six games.

Lind ranked in the Top 10 nationally in 10 categories, including third in home runs (16), while adding 17 doubles, three triples and 64 runs scored while starting all 69 contests.

Coleman spent the first half of the season in the outfield before playing third base in the final 39 games. The Nashville, Tenn., native batted .381 with 24 doubles (No. 5 in the nation), four homers and 58 RBIs. He scored a team-leading 76 runs (fourth most in the country) and registered 30 multi-hit and 15 multi-RBI outings. Coleman finished the year with 99 hits in 68 games.

Hall was Mr. Consistent in the leadoff spot for the Bulldogs, collecting 94 hits along with 42 walks and 14 stolen bases. The Lebanon, Tenn., native was also hit 20 times for an on-base percentage of .510. He reached base safely in 66 of the club’s 69 contests and tied for the team lead with 30 multi-hit outings. Hall batted .392 overall with 11 doubles, three triples, 38 RBIs and 75 runs scored.

2014 NAIA Baseball All-America Teams
First Team
C – Darryl Knight, Embry-Riddle
C – Carlos Contreras, Northwood [TX] Univ.
1B – Martin Lemus, Georgetown College
2B – Sam Lind, Cumberland Univ.
SS – Riley Swanson, Mt. Vernon Nazarene
3B – Jeff Lusardi, San Diego Christian
UT – Forrest Smith, Oklahoma City Univ.
DH – Jake Shirley, Lewis-Clark State
OF – Orlando Olivera, Missouri Baptist
OF – Jose Ruiz, Oklahoma Wesleyan
OF – Matt Page, Oklahoma Baptist
OF – Cody Lavalli, Lewis-Clark State
SP – Gabe Hemmer, San Diego Christian
SP – Kody Gaddis, Evangel [MO] Univ.
SP – Derek Moore, Shawnee State
SP – Julian Merryweather, Oklahoma Baptist
RP – Tyler Akins, Belhaven Univ.

Second Team
C – Hank Stewart, Brescia Univ.
C – Connor Lynch, Oklahoma City
1B – Steven Knudson, Oklahoma Baptist
2B – Paul Pickerell, Belhaven Univ.
SS – Ivan Vela, Oklahoma Baptist
3B – Mitchell Osnowitz, Lindsey Wilson
UT – Ricky Coleman, Cumberland Univ.
DH – Jeff Ricker, Oklahoma Baptist
OF – Chris Hall, Cumberland Univ.
OF – Taylor Eads, Spring Hill College
OF – Dusty Davis, Reinhardt Univ.
OF – Mith Peschon, Northwestern [IA] College
SP – Junior Mustain, Tabor College
SP – Jacob Kopra, Corban College
SP – Jordan Morales, Oklahoma Baptist
SP – Daniel Poncedeleon, Embry-Riddle
RP – Travis Tarleton, Point Univ.

Honorable Mention
Tim Hill, Bacone College
Kyle Kinman, Bellevue Univ.
Chris Van Brandy, Brewton-Parker
Conor Lillis-White, Univ. of British Columbia
Grant Zawadski, Bryan College
Keegan Yuhl, Concordia [CA] Univ.
Corey Murphy, Davenport Univ.
Elliott Engle, Doane College
Robert Liera, Faulkner Univ.
Tyler Arthur, Georgetown College
Tyler Carpenter, Georgia Gwinnett
Justin Kalusa, Indiana Tech
Tommy Muhlethaler, Jarvis Christian
Josh Raymond, Judson [IL] Univ.
Ryan Sells, Lewis-Clark State
Jordan Eckley, MidAmerica Nazarene
Brandon Zywicki, Missouri Baptist
Cody Groskreutz, Northwestern [IA] College
Chris Pike, Oklahoma City Univ.
Jeff Butler, Oklahoma Wesleyan
Aaron Marshall, Ottawa Univ.
Davon Poole, Univ. of St. Mary [KS]
Cade Gotta, San Diego Christian
Jaime Gurroloa, Univ. of Science & Arts [OK]
J. Golden, St. Ambrose Univ.
Edwin Medina, St. Thomas Univ.
Ricky Rodriguez, Sterling College
Kirk Rocha, Tabor College
Jacob Webb, Tabor College
Steve Karkenny, The Master’s College
Brady Anderson, Valley City State
Russell Harmening, Westmont College

NAIA Player of the Year: Jose Ruiz, Oklahoma Wesleyan