Sierra voted First Team All-America by NAIA
Tuesday, June 5, 2018
Sierra voted First Team All-America by NAIA
Rayden Sierra garnered First Team All-America honors, the 69th All-America accolade for a CU player under head coach Woody Hunt. (Credit Chris Wells, Mid-South Conference)

LEBANON, Tenn. – Cumberland senior Rayden Sierra earned First Team All-America honors this week, as selected by the NAIA Baseball All-America committee and announced this week by the national office following the conclusion of the Avista-NAIA World Series in Lewiston, Idaho.

Sierra earns the 69th All-America honor in Cumberland history and becomes the 60th different player to garner All-America accolades under head coach Woody Hunt.

The Andres Boca Chica, Dominican Republic, native started the season slowly at the plate but finished with a flourish, batting .350 overall in 55 games with 16 doubles, 22 home runs, 54 RBIs and 63 runs scored. He ended the year ranked second nationally in home runs, fifth in slugging percentage (.773), seventh in total bases (157) and 34th in runs scored.

He led the Phoenix in batting average, doubles, home runs, RBIs and runs scored this season, posting a team-best 71 hits while drawing 31 walks, second most for CU. Sierra batted .408 (51-for-125) with 13 doubles, 15 homers, 39 RBIs, 43 runs scored, 19 walks and just 13 strikeouts over the last 35 games of the season, posting an .888 slugging percentage during that stretch.

2018 NAIA Baseball All-America Teams

SP – Jonathan Bermudez, Southeastern University
SP – Stephen Chamblee, Bryan College
SP – Shawn Dubin, Georgetown College
SP – Orlando Rodriguez, St. Thomas University
RP – DJ Wilson, Campbellsville University
C – Lane Milligan, Oklahoma City
C – Elih Marrero, St. Thomas University
1B – Andrew Warner, Columbia College [MO]
2B – Augie Isaacson, Friends University
SS – Randy Perez, Central Methodist
3B – Gregg Veneklasen, Wayland Baptist
UT – Walter Coursey, Georgia Gwinnett
DH – Josh Sears, Freed-Hardeman
OF – Kiki Menendez, Texas Wesleyan
OF – Fernando Garcia, Bryan College
OF – Nelson Mompierre, St. Thomas University
OF – Rayden Sierra, Cumberland University

SP – Kyle Fulton, Central Methodist
SP – Tyson Campbell, Lyon College
SP – Tyson Cronin, Oklahoma Wesleyan
SP – Matt Patton, Taylor University
RP – Jacob Hulcher, Northwestern Ohio
C – Dylan Shockley, University of Rio Grande
C – Tighe Koehring, Indiana Tech
1B – Glen McClain, Indiana Tech
2B – Jackie Urbaez, St. Thomas University
SS – Kory Langacker, Bellevue University
3B – Austin Sojka, Oklahoma Wesleyan
UT – Matt Mahjer, La Sierra University
DH – Joe Lytle, Oklahoma City
OF – Reese Cooley, Faulkner University
OF – Dan Valero, Southeastern University
OF – Tyler Sroczynski, Trinity Christian
OF – Austen Swift, William Jessup

SP – Ben Madison, Central Baptist
SP – Keisy Portorreal, Mid-America Christian
SP – Renny Tolentino, LSU-Shreveport
SP – Renton Poole, Indiana-Kokomo
SP – Braxton Rhodes, University of Mobile
SP – Ivan Torres, Benedictine College [AZ]
SP – Nick Little, Concordia University [NE]
SP – Dan Gerke, Judson University
SP – Tyler Burch, Lewis-Clark State
SP – Jordan Dreibelbis, Vanguard University
SP – Hunter Peck, Georgia Gwinnett
SP – Oliver Mailoux, Northwestern Ohio
SP – Mason Swegarden, Mayville State
SP – Chase Thometz, University of Jamestown
SP – Jordan Scott, Southeastern University
SP – Clayton Rabiej, Antelope Valley
SP – Kyle Fimbrez, Oklahoma Wesleyan
1B – Christian Snow, University of Mobile
2B – Michael Stefanic, Westmont College
SS – Kyle Kolb, Trinity Christian
SS – Abdiel Alicea, Tabor College
3B – Cody Earl, Marian University
3B – Nate Dechaine, Morningside College
3B – Blake Jackson, Middle Georgia State
IF – Tyler Pittman, Antelope Valley
IF – Trenton Nash, Middle Georgia State
IF – Garrett Foster, Oklahoma City
OF – Logan Constantine, LSU-Alexandria
OF – Raymond Pedrina, Lewis-Clark State
OF – Christian Smith, William Carey
OF – Wade Weinburger, Bryan College
OF – Zach Cornell, Middle Georgia State
DH – Logan Haring, Central Methodist
DH – Marcus McCorkle, Georgia Gwinnett

Player of the Year: Kiki Menendez, Texas Wesleyan
Pitcher of the Year: Jonathan Bermudez, Southeastern University