Capps named AP NAIA Second Team All-American
Tuesday, December 21, 2021
Capps named AP NAIA Second Team All-American
Senior Jace Capps adds AP NAIA Second Team All-American. (Credit: Steve Wampler)

LEBANON, Tenn.--The accolades continue to come in for senior defensive end Jace Capps as he earns AP Second Team NAIA All-American, released by the associated press on Monday.

Capps earned First Team NAIA/AFCA All-American honors earlier in the month and First Team All-Mid-SOuth Conference in November. 

The AP NAIA All-America team presented by Regions Bank was released Friday and was chosen by a panel of sports writers and sports information directors in conjunction with COSIDA.

Capps finished third on the team in tackles with 53 while registering 12 sacks this season which is third-most in the NAIA by an individual player. 

He picked up four sacks on the road at No. 1 Lindsey Wilson and two apiece against Florida Memorial and Georgetown. Capps led the team in tackles for a loss with 21.5 and forced two fumbles this season. 

The Norcross, Ga. native finishes his career with 146 tackles and 24.5 sacks. 



Quarterback - Joe Dolincheck, senior, Morningside (Iowa).


Running backs - Marques Burgess, junior, Keiser (Fla.); Anthony Sims, senior, Morningside (Iowa).

Linemen - Jason Hahlbeck, senior, Morningside (Iowa); Andrew Rupcich, senior, Culver-Stockton; Eli Cross, senior, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Alex Huisman, junior, Dordt (Iowa); Andrew Carter, sophomore, Carroll College.

Tight end - Matthew Trevillian, senior, Bluefield (Va.).

Receivers - Cade Moser, junior, Northwestern (Iowa); Caleb Tanis, sophomore, MidAmerica Nazarene (Kan.); Jaquan Ebron, senior, Bluefield (Va.).

All-purpose player - Shamar Moreland, senior, Ottawa (Ariz.).

Kicker - Nathan Hamilton, junior, Grand View (Iowa).


Linemen - Gabriel Jacon-Duffy, freshman, Point (Ga.); Marshaun Jones, senior, Valley City State (N.D.); Adrian Johnson, senior, Texas Wesleyan; Sage DeLong, senior, Eastern Oregon.

Linebackers - Jason Freeman, sophomore, Olivet Nazarene (Ill.); Tyler Wingert, senior, Morningside (Iowa); Lane Napier, senior, Concordia (Neb.).

Defensive backs - Robert Carter, senior, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Justin Johnson, senior, Indiana Wesleyan; Noah Guse, junior, Dakota State (S.D.): Sage Chen-Young, junior, Keiser (Fla.); Taeson Hardin, senior, College of Idaho.

Punter - Casey Rauch, sophomore, Concordia (Mich.)




Quarterback - Cameron Dukes, senior, Lindsey, Wilson (Ky.).

Running backs - Keaton Dudik, junior, Southwestern Assemblies of God (Texas); J.D. Woods, senior, Baker (Kan.).

Linemen - Joe Gressette, senior, Lindsey Wilson (Ky.); Luke Watson, senior, Indiana Wesleyan; Keegan Martin, junior, Bethel (Kan); John Cano, junior, Reinhardt (Ga.); Mitchell Smith, senior, Grand View (Iowa).

Tight end - Luke Wilson, senior, Concordia (Mich.).

Receivers - Jon Cole, senior, Arizona Christian; Reid Jurgensmeier, senior, Morningside (Iowa); Nate Simkins, senior, Montana Western.

All-purpose player - Jalen Jennings, junior, Marian (Ind.).

Kicker - Chase Carter, junior, Morningside (Iowa).


Linemen - Brett Moser, senior, Northwestern (Iowa); Jace Capps, senior, Cumberland (Tenn.); Weston Schultz, senior, Morningside (Iowa); Chase Van Wyck, senior, Eastern Oregon.

Linebackers - Colby Johnson, senior, Ottawa (Kan.); Josh Seabolt, senior, Bethel (Kan.); D.J. White, senior, Georgetown (Ky.).

Defensive backs - Devin Johnston, junior, Ottawa (Kan.); Trey Palmer, junior, Bethel (Kan.); Noah Van’t Hof, junior, Northwestern (Iowa); Cole Rollinger, senior, Grand View (Iowa); Athanie Leeviraphan, junior, Evangel (Mo.).

Punter - Elgin Phillips, sophomore, Thomas More (Ky.).