Capps announced as a Cliff Harris Award Finalist
Thursday, December 23, 2021
Capps announced as a Cliff Harris Award Finalist

LEBANON, Tenn.-- Jace Capps has been announced a Cliff Harris Award finalist, released by the Cliff Harris Awards committee on Thursday.

The award is presented to the nation’s top small college defensive player representing more than 5,000 defensive players from almost 500 NCAA Division II, Division III and NAIA colleges and universities.

An overall winner will be announced on December 28th and honored at the Little Rock Touchdown Club’s annual awards banquet on January 14, 2022 with featured speaker Joe Theismann. The winner will receive the $3,000 Cliff Harris Award trophy presented by Cliff Harris. In addition to the overall winner, the top vote getters from each division will also be announced.

For the story of Cliff Harris, go to and read about his amazing journey from an overlooked high school player from tiny Des Arc, Arkansas, and one scholarship offer to then NAIA Ouachita Baptist University, to five Super Bowls, six Pro Bowls with the Dallas Cowboys, and was inducted into the NFL Hall of Fame this past summer.

Capps has already garnered AFCA NAIA First Team All-American Honors and earlier this week was named an AP NAIA Second Team All-American. 

Capps is one of three Mid-South Conference Bluegrass Division Players listed as a finalist alongside DJ White and Marcus Omosule from Georgetown. White was named the Bluegrass Division Defensive Player of the Year.


Player Classification School
Devin Adams SO Peru State University
Teon Burroughs SR Reinhardt University
Jace Capps SR Cumberland University
Robert Carter SR Lindsey Wilson College
Sage Chen-Young JR Keiser University
Jaylen Cowley SR Missouri Baptist University
Sage DeLong SR Eastern Oregon University
Jason Freeman SO Olivet Nazarene University
Jacob Garcia SR Ottawa University
Noah Guse JR Dakota State University
Gabriel Jacon-Duffy FR Point University
Jalen James SR Benedictine College
Justin Johnson SR Indiana Wesleyan University
Kole Murlin JR Siena Heights University
Lane Napier SR Concordia University
Marcus Omosule SR Georgetown College
Chase Van Wyck SR Eastern Oregon University
Noah Van't Hof SR Northwestern College
D.J. White JR Georgetown College
DaMarcus Wimbush SR Bluefield University