Men finish first, women second at Freed Speed Open
Sunday, September 10, 2017
Men finish first, women second at Freed Speed Open
Cumberland men's cross country won the team title Saturday at the Freed Speed Open in Henderson, Tenn.

LEBANON, Tenn. – Freshman Joel Barlow and sophomore Jerry Rojas placed second and third, respectively, helping the Cumberland men to first place as a team, and sophomore Amber Mays finished fourth for the women at the Freed Speed Open on Saturday in Henderson, Tenn.

Barlow was the team’s top finisher for the second straight week, completing the 8K course in 27:29.44 while Rojas was just behind in 27:37.96. Junior Chris Swann finished fifth in 27:59.31, freshman Nate Mihnovic placed ninth in 28:50.04 and junior Carlos Tirado completed the course in 29:09.27 for 13th. Cumberland posted a team score of 32 for first place, the program’s first-ever team title at an event.

Junior Michael Rogers finished 15th in 29:34.70, while freshmen Titus Williams and Tim Vanjohnson, Jr., placed 24th and 30th, respectively, with times if 30:38.61 and 31:25.59. Freshman Carlos Angeles-Solis was 37th in 34:00.73.

Mays paced five women in the top 10, helping the Phoenix to a second-place team showing.

Mays completed the 5K course in 27:29.44 and junior Taylor Blankenship finished sixth in 20:38.94. Junior Claudia Tepox was seventh in 20:40.20 while freshmen Elaine Park and Anna Grose placed ninth and 10th, respectively, with times of 21:19.39 and 21:22.33.

Sophomore Gavin DuVall finished 11th in 21:25.02, sophomore Michaela Postell was 12th in 22:00.50 and freshman Hannah Spring placed 15th in 22:20.64. Freshman Kintana Banks was 24th in 25:00.75.

Cumberland races again next Saturday at the Rhodes Invitational in Memphis, Tenn.

4. Amber Mays, 20:11.95
6. Taylor Blankenship, 20:38.94
7. Claudia Tepox, 20:40.20
9. Elaine Park, 21:19.39
10. Anna Grose, 21:22.33 11. Gavin DuVall, 21:25.02
12. Michaela Postell, 22:00.50
15. Hannah Spring, 22:20.64
24. Kintana Banks, 25:00.75

2. Joel Barlow, 27:29.44
3. Jerry Rojas, 27:37.96
5. Chris Swann, 27:59.31
9. Nate Mihnovic, 28:50.04
13. Carlos Tirado, 29:09.27
15. Michael Rogers, 29:34.70
24. Titus Williams, 30:38.61
30. Tim Vanjohnson Jr., 31:25.59
37. Carlos Angeles-Solis, 34:00.73