Watson, Carillo, and Walsh make MSC All-Conference
Friday, November 8, 2019
Watson, Carillo, and Walsh make MSC All-Conference
Watson, Walsh, and Carillo receiving All-Conference Awards

BOWLING GREEN, Ky.--Friday night the Mid-South Conference announced its accolades for this year’s men’s soccer season, three Cumberland players making the All-Conference teams. Tyler Watson made the first team as a midfielder while Joaquin Carillo and Martin Walsh made the second team as a defender and forward, respectively.

The first team selection for Watson stands as the second of his career, earning a first team spot his freshman year before a second team selection last year. Watson leads all Phoenix players with nine goals this season to go along with a very solid six assists.

Carillo was a revelation in his first season with Cumberland, becoming a strong presence on the backline for the Phoenix as the season progressed.

In two years with the Phoenix, Walsh has earned second-team All-Mid-South Conference honors each time. During the 2019 regular season, Walsh contributed seven goals and a team leading eight assists.

Five Cumberland players were selected to the Academic All-Conference team: Abdulkhalik Abdi, Wilson Musyoka, Nicklas Rulle, Martin Walsh, and Tyler Watson.

First Team All-Mid-South Conference
GK – Fabian Pekruhl, Life (Ga.)
GK – Owen Stott, Campbellsville (Ky.)
D – Connor Grant, Campbellsville (Ky.)
D – Neville Morgan, Lindsey Wilson
D – Renan Ramos, Lindsey Wilson
D – Martin Cortes Silva, Life (Ga.)
MF – Sebastian Bocaz Canales, Georgetown (Ky.)
MF – Rainer De Jesus, Lindsey Wilson
MF – Tom Edge, Campbellsville (Ky.)
MF – Bruno Henrique, Lindsey Wilson
MF – Marc Lawrence, Campbellsville (Ky.)
MF – Tyler Watson, Cumberland (Tenn.)
F – Oscar Dueso, Lindsey Wilson
F – Sergio Infantes, Cumberlands (Ky.)
F Thierry Jules, Life (Ga.)
Akean Shackleford, Lindsey Wilson
Marvin van der Made, Cumberlands (Ky.)

Second Team All-Mid-South Conference 
GK –  Anibal Nararro, Pikeville (Ky.)
GK – Akililu Zambataro, Cumberlands (Ky.)
D – Anour Adam, Lindsey Wilson
D – Joaquin Carillo, Cumberland (Tenn.)
D – Joel Drewery, Cumberlands (Ky.)
D – Nemanja Jovanovic, Cumberlands (Ky.)
MF – Mattheus Brandao, Life (Ga.)
MF – Luis Jara, Cumberlands (Ky.)
MF – Alex Koziolek, Lindsey Wilson
MF – Stan Vandierendonck, Life (Ga.)
F – Kevin de Lange, Shawnee State
F – Azad Illiozer, Campbellsville (Ky.)
F – Connor Pugh, Campbellsville (Ky.)
D – Martin Walsh, Cumberland (Tenn.)

Player of the Year: Thierry Jules, Life (Ga.)
Defensive Player of the Year: Neville Morgan, Lindsey Wilson
Freshman of the Year: Oscar Dueso, Lindsey Wilson
Coach of the Year: Alex Pama, Life (Ga.)