Sanna, doubles team pick up wins at LWC
Monday, September 19, 2011
Sanna, doubles team pick up wins at LWC
Evan Sanna won two singles matches before falling in the quarterfinals at the Blue Raider Fall Tennis Classic. (Credit Chuck Thompson)

LEBANON, Tenn. – Evan Sanna won a pair of singles matches, reaching the quarterfinals before falling to the eventual champion, and Pedro Rodrigues and Andres Burgos posted a pair of doubles wins before losing in the semifinals, leading the Cumberland men’s tennis team at the Blue Raider Fall Tennis Classic on September 9-11 in Columbia, Ky.

Sanna defeated Tennessee Wesleyan’s Neal Baldwin, 6-2, 6-1, and Lindsey Wilson’s third-seeded Victor Saez, 7-5, 1-6, 7-6 (5), before falling to Shorter University’s Guillaume Ledrap, 4-6, 1-6, in the quarterfinals of the main draw that featured 38 players.

The Bulldogs picked up two more singles victories in the main draw, with Rodrigues defeating LWC’s Pablo Vilches, 6-2, 7-6 (4), and Burgos won 6-2, 6-1, over TWC’s Bret Wade, but Rodrigues, Burgos, Antonio Manuel Marcelo and Jeremy Fleming all lost in the Round of 32, with LWC’s Victor Saez defeating Burgos and TWC’s David Escobosa winning over Fleming in three sets.

In doubles Rodrigues and Burgos posted 8-3 victories over Western Kentucky’s Bobby Whitmer and Arul Selvan and LWC’s Fabricio Morales and Saez. The Bulldog tandem lost in the semifinals, 8-5, to WKU’s Lance Freeman and Craig Kirchgessner. Sanna and Marcelo dropped an 8-5 decision to Romain Lefevre and Ledrap.

Complete results from the tournament may be found here.

Round of 64

Pedro Rodrigues (CU) def. Pablo Vilches (Lindsey Wilson), 6-2, 7-6 (4)
Andres Burgos (CU) def. Bret Wade (Tennessee Wesleyan), 6-2, 6-1

Round of 32
Josh Smith (Western Kentucky) def. Pedro Rodrigues (CU), 6-4, 6-4
Romain Lefevre (Shorter Univ.) def. Antonio Manuel Marcelo (CU), 6-4, 6-3
Victor Saez (Lindsey Wilson) def. Andres Burgos (CU), 3-6, 7-6 (1), 6-4
Evan Sanna (CU) def. Neal Baldwin (Tennessee Wesleyan), 6-2, 6-1
David Escobosa (Tennessee Wesleyan) def. Jeremy Fleming (CU), 6-1, 5-7, 6-2

Round of 16
Evan Sanna (CU) def. Victor Saez (Lindsey Wilson), 7-5, 1-6, 7-6 (5)

Guillaume Ledrap (Shorter Univ.) def. Evan Sanna (CU), 6-4, 6-1

Jeremy Fleming (CU) def. Neal Baldwin (Tennessee Wesleyan), 6-2, 6-3
Arturo Lifshitz (Shorter Univ.) def. Jeremy Fleming (CU), 6-4, 5-7, 10-8
Antonio Manuel Marcelo (CU) def. Tyler Patner (WKU), 6-0, 6-3
Fredrik Graaner (Lindsey Wilson) def. Antonio Manuel Marcelo (CU), 2-6, 6-3, 10-7

Round of 16

Guillaume Ledrap-Romain Lefevre (Shorter Univ.) def. Evan Sanna-Antonio Manuel Marcelo (CU), 8-5
Pedro Rodrigues-Andres Burgos (CU) def. Bobby Whitmer-Arul Selvan (Western Kentucky), 8-3

Pedro Rodrigues-Andres Burgos (CU) def. Fabricio Morales-Victor Saez (Lindsey Wilson), 8-3

Lance Freeman-Craig Kirchgessner (Western Kentucky) def. Pedro Rodrigues-Andres Burgos (CU), 8-5