Men's tennis sweeps Mid-South honors
Sunday, April 21, 2013
Men's tennis sweeps Mid-South honors
Antonio Manuel Marcelo was named Mid-South Conference Player of the Year in a vote of league coaches announced this week. (Credit Chuck Thompson)

LEBANON, Tenn. – Antonio Manuel Marcelo earned Mid-South Conference Player of the Year honors and Pablo Borrero and Pedro Rodrigues were both named First Team All-Conference in a vote of league coaches released this week in conjunction with the conference tournament. Bill McCormick garnered Coach of the Year accolades and Borrero was named Freshman of the Year as well.

Marcelo has posted a 12-2 mark in singles, 9-1 in dual matches, and an 18-5 record in doubles, 15-4 in dual matches, this academic year. He is ranked 27th nationally in the latest ITA rankings in singles and 17th with Rodrigues in doubles.

The sophomore from Cascais, Portugal, did not play singles in the first seven dual matches of the spring because of injury but participated in doubles in all but one of the matches. His only singles loss this spring came against Auburn Montgomery’s second-ranked Nicolas Pinones-Haltentoff. It is the second Player of the Year honor for Marcelo after being named TranSouth Conference Player of the Year as a freshman in 2012.

Rodrigues has registered a 14-4 singles mark, 12-4 in dual matches, and a 16-4 record in doubles, 14-5 in dual matches, this year. The Batalha, Portugal, native earned his third straight All-Conference honor, the last two seasons in the TranSouth Conference.

After enrolling in January, Borrero has posted a 17-3 singles record and a 17-4 mark in doubles. The Pereira, Colombia, native is 10-1 in singles against Mid-South competition and 11-1 against league foes in doubles.

McCormick garnered his second consecutive Coach of the Year award after earning the honor last season in the TranSouth Conference. The Bulldogs have been ranked in the Top 11 all season in the NAIA Coaches’ Poll and finished second in conference play with a 7-1 mark. The squad is currently 17-4 overall and will find out May 8 who it will play in the first round of the NAIA Championships, which run May 14-18 in Mobile, Ala.

First Team All-Mid-South Conference
Fernando Bogajo, Lindsey Wilson
Pablo Borrero, Cumberland Univ.
Marlon Dal Pont, Lindsey Wilson
Ariez Heshaam, Univ. of the Cumberlands
Antonio Manuel Marcelo, Cumberland Univ.
Sebastian Marot, Campbellsville Univ.
Fabricio Morales, Lindsey Wilson
Michael Rjazanov, Campbellsville Univ.
Sven Rodenbusch, Univ. of Pikeville
Pedro Rodrigues, Cumberland Univ.

Honorable Mention All-Mid-South Conference
Vlad Akimenko, UVA-Wise
Dmitry Babenkov, Univ. of Pikeville
Andres Burgos, Cumberland Univ.
Gustavo Echeverria, Georgetown College
Marcos Sernandez Fondelius, Univ. of Pikeville
Danilo Garcia, Univ. of the Cumberlands
Ethan Rowton, Univ. of Pikeville
Alejandro Soriano, Campbellsville Univ.

Player of the Year: Antonio Manuel Marcelo, Cumberland Univ.
Freshman of the Year: Pablo Borrero, Cumberland Univ.
Coach of the Year: Bill McCormick, Cumberland Univ.