Men's tennis claims MSC regular season championship
Saturday, April 19, 2014
Men's tennis claims MSC regular season championship
Cumberland claimed the Mid-South Conference regular season championship with Saturday's 8-1 victory over Pikeville.

LEBANON, Tenn. – Cumberland won all three doubles matches and the top five singles positions, clinching the program’s first Mid-South Conference regular season championship with an 8-1 victory over 21st-ranked University of Pikeville on Saturday at the Tommy Gray Memorial Courts.

The Bulldogs (11-4, 7-0 Mid-South) won their 10th straight match overall and have not lost since dropping a 7-2 decision at No. 1-ranked Embry-Riddle on March 11. CU finishes the regular season at home on Tuesday against 18th-ranked Bethel University before beginning action in the Mid-South Conference Championships on Thursday in Georgetown, Ky.

Antonio Manuel Marcelo and Pedro Rodrigues defeated Sven Rodenbusch and Marcos Fondelius, 8-6, at No. 1 doubles and Diogo Soares and Garry Tokas won by the same score at No. 3 over Nicolas Rodenbusch and Pawel Tarasewicz. Andres Burgos and Pablo Borrero claimed an 8-4 victory against Connor Smith and Francois Billet at No. 2.

The Bulldogs won the top three singles spots in straight sets and the final three singles outings were all pro sets.

Marcelo, ranked 12th nationally, posted a 6-1, 6-1, victory over Sven Rodenbusch at No. 1, while Borrero defeated Billet, 6-3, 7-5, at No. 2 and Rodrigues registered a 6-2, 6-1, win versus Fondelius at No. 3.

Soares recorded an 8-6 victory against Juan Manuel Reyes at No. 4 and Burgos defeated Felix Singer, 9-8 (5), at No. 5. Pikeville’s only point of the match was an 8-3 win for Tarasewicz over Tokas at No. 6.

#6 Cumberland Univ. 8, #21 Univ. of Pikeville 1
1. #12 Antonio Manuel Marcelo (CU) def. Sven Rodenbusch (PIKE), 6-1, 6-1
2. Pablo Borrero (CU) def. Francois Billet (PIKE), 6-3, 7-5
3. Pedro Rodrigues (CU) def. Marcos Fondelius (PIKE), 6-2, 6-1
4. Diogo Soares (CU) def. Juan Manuel Reyes (PIKE), 8-6
5. Andres Burgos (CU) def. Felix Singer (PIKE), 9-8 (5)
6. Pawel Tarasewicz (PIKE) def. Garry Tokas (CU), 8-3

1. Marcelo-Rodriguez (CU) def. S. Rodenbusch-Fondelius (PIKE), 8-6
2. Borrero-Burgos (CU) def. Connor Smith-Billet (PIKE), 8-4
3. Soares-Tokas (CU) def. Nicolas Rodenbusch-Tarasewicz (PIKE), 8-6