Men open MSC play with 5-3 victory
Saturday, March 5, 2016
Men open MSC play with 5-3 victory
Alejandro Rosas Garcia recorded singles and doubles wins in CU's 5-3 victory Saturday over the Cumberlands.

LEBANON, Tenn. – Twenty-third ranked Cumberland posted a pair of doubles wins and singles victories at Nos. 3-5 to claim a 5-3 victory over the University of the Cumberlands in men’s tennis action Saturday at the Tommy Gray Memorial Courts.

The Phoenix (3-2, 1-0 Mid-South) won its second straight outing in two days.

Cumberland won doubles matches at Nos. 2 and 3, with Anatoliy Lashkul and Jakov Tshirkin defeating Dev Sivam and Yusuke Matsuoka, 8-2 at No. 2 and Alejandro Rosas Garcia and Jose Ortega Vela registering an 8-4 victory at No. 3 versus Daniel Butcher and Aatu Merenheimo. Ariez Heshaam and Daniel Fraser from the Cumberlands recorded an 8-2 win at No. 1 against CU’s Thiago Lopes and Axel Lucich.

Heshaam and Butcher helped the Patriots (4-3, 0-1) even the match, with Heshaam posting a 6-3, 6-4, victory at No. 1 over Lashkul and Butcher coming back for a 3-6, 6-4, 6-1, win at No. 2 versus Lopes.

The middle of Cumberland’s lineup was the difference, with Rosas Garcia registering a 6-0, 6-2, triumph at No. 3 against Fraser and Lucich defeating Matsuoka, 6-2, 6-3, at No. 4. Tshirkin won 6-0, 6-3 versus Merenheimo at No. 5 and Ortega Vela was up a set and on serve in the second set against Leonardo de Mello Cuoto.

Cumberland heads to Lawrenceville, Ga., next weekend to take on top-ranked Georgia Gwinnett and No. 10 William Carey next weekend.

#23 Cumberland Univ. 5, Univ. of the Cumberlands 3

1. Ariez Heshaam (UC) def. Anatoliy Lashkul (CU), 6-3, 6-4
2. Daniel Butcher (UC) def. Thiago Lopes (CU), 3-6, 6-4, 6-1
3. Alejandro Rosas Garcia (CU) def. Daniel Fraser (UC), 6-0, 6-2
4. Axel Lucich (CU) def. Yusuke Matsuoka (UC), 6-2, 6-3
5. Jakov Tshirkin (CU) def. Aatu Merenheimo (UC), 6-0, 6-3
6. Jose Ortega Vela (CU) vs. Leonardo de Mello Cuoto (UC), 6-2, 3-2, DNF

1. Heshaam-Fraser (UC) def. Lopes-Lucich (CU), 8-2
2. Lashkul-Tshirkin (CU) def. Dev Sivam-Matsuoka (UC), 8-2
3. Rosas Garcia-Ortega Vela (UC) def. Butcher-Merenheimo (CU), 8-4