CU Wrestlers drop two spots to No. 13
Friday, January 19, 2007
After going 0-3 at the national dual meet tournament, Cumberland University wrestling dropped to 13th in the Jan. 18th rankings. Corey Bleaken at 149 dropped one spot to 5th. Bleaken’s only loss at national duals was in double-overtime  to Darren Cotton from William and Penn. Cotton is ranked number one in the country after a third-place finish last year ahead of  Mark Dickman  from Lindenwood who is the defending national champ.  Luke Borneman at 184 and Ben Briscoe at 197 remained ranked 6th and 4th respectively. Borneman bumped up to 197 and had a clutch pin against McKendree at national duals but the Bulldogs still ended up falling a little short in the dual losing 20-25 giving up a forfeit at 141. Briscoe had a pin at 197 in the York College match. Another notable win for the Bulldogs was at 174. Jordan Powers beat Trey Jackson from York College 4-2. Jackson is currently ranked 2nd in the Central region ahead of two former All-Americans from Missouri Valley. Cumberland University will be in action this weekend when they host their first regular season tournament on Saturday at 9 a.m.
1. Lindenwood (Mo.)
2. Dickinson State (N.D.)
3. Embry-Riddle (Ariz.)
4. William Penn (Iowa)
5. Dana (Neb.)
6. Missouri Valley
7. Cumberlands (Ky.)
8. Campbellsville (Ky.)
T-9. Great Falls (Mont.)
T-9. McKendree (Ill.)
11. Menlo (Calif.)
12. Northwestern (Iowa)
T-13. Cumberland (Tenn.)
T-13. Montana State-Northern
15. Jamestown (N.D.)
15. Missouri Baptist
17. Simon Fraser (B.C.)
18. Waldorf (Iowa)
19. York (Neb.)
T-20. Oklahoma City Univ.
T-20. Morningside (Iowa)
1. Richard Byrd, ERAU
2. Delrico Choates, Cumberlands (Ky.)
3. Mark Johnston, Dickinson State
4. Josh Sampo, Lindenwood
5. Craig Trampe, Dana
6. Cory Johnston, Dickinson State
7. Steve Costello, Montana State Northern
8. Dennis Kakrah, Lindenwood
1. Kyle Jahn, McKendree
2. Burke Barnes, Dana
3. Ryan Moyer, Lindenwood
4. Mike Miller, McKendree
5. John Gerhold, Missouri Valley
6. Jordan Keckler, Northwestern
7. Blake Risk, Great Falls
8. Mikeal Brooks, Cumberlands (Ky.)
1. Brad Cooper, Cumberlands (Ky.)
2. Terrence Almond, Dana
3. Gordo Villaescusa, ERAU
4. Zach Flake, Campbellsville
5. Brian Graham, Dana
6. Chris Smith, Montana State Northern
7. Kyle Norred, Campbellsville
7. Clint Leonard, Missouri Valley
1. Darren Cotton, William Penn
2. Mark Dickman, Lindenwood
3. Chris Seta Campbellsville
4. Brad Stockton Waldorf
5. Corey Bleaken Cumberland (Tenn.)
6. Grant Mehring Jamestown
7. Jairus Murton Campbellsville
8. Jason Mendez ERAU
1. Hayden Harrison, ERAU
2. Chad Jennings, Missouri Valley
3. David Clemens, Campbellsville
4. Wayne French, Great Falls
5. Jason Bilinski, Dana
6. Justin Wolfrum, Lindenwood
7. Brandon Graham, William Penn
8. Matt Gustafson, Morningside
1. Jake Diffenbach, Lindenwood
2. Nate Sturgis, William Penn
3. David Krawczyk, Simon Fraser
4. Shane Bennett, Dickinson State
5. Stephen Towne, Menlo
6. Marty Unsman, William Penn
7. Calvin Devault, ERAU
8. Randy Vanderveen, Lindenwood
1. Mike Kummer, Great Falls
2. Abe Trujillo, William Penn
3. John Salter, Lindenwood
4. Enoch Francois, Northwestern
5. Stanton Schlect, Dickinson State
6. David Waters, Montana State Northern
7. Brandon Wyms, McKendree
8. Jake Toavs, Dickinson State
1. Jasper Lockett, MissouriValley
2. Joeffre Lander, ERAU
3. Kyle Frawley, Lindenwood
4. Matt Michaelson, Dickinson State
5. Tyler Philips, York
6. Luke Borneman, Cumberland (Tenn.)
7. Alex Calvi, Great Falls
7. Tanner Wolk, McKendree
1. Justin Schlect, Dickinson State
2. Tyrell Blanche, Menlo
3. Glenn Jackson, Campbellsville
4. Andrew Lundgren, Northwestern
5. Ben Briscoe, Cumberland (Tenn.)
6. Wade Jordan, Dana
7. Brian Fritchman, Montana State Northern
8. Cory Johnson, Oklahoma City
1. Eric Flinchum, Cumberlands (Ky.)
2. Jared Bonnell, Missouri Baptist
3. Clay Rogers, Dickinson State
4. David Herman, Missouri Valley
5. Jacob Hallmark, Menlo
6. Sam Sand, Jamestown
7. Lance Shunia, Lindenwood
8. Chauncey Coleman, William Penn