Williams, Stewart receive All-MSC accolades
Thursday, May 7, 2015
Williams, Stewart receive All-MSC accolades
Scott Stewart earned Second Team All-Mid-South Conference honors for the Bulldogs in 2014-15. (Credit Tim Tushla)

LEBANON, Tenn. – Cumberland senior Jake Williams earned First Team All-Mid-South honors and senior Scott Stewart was a Second Team selection, as announced by the league office Thursday.

The all-conference team was determined by the finishes at the NAIA East Qualifying Tournament. The top finisher in each weight class earned first team while the next best MSC wrestler in each class earns second team all-conference honors.

Williams repeated as national champion at 149 thanks to a takedown and a near fall in overtime against Missouri Valley College’s Jake Ekster. The Rio Rancho, N.M., native finished his career as a four-time All-American, the last three of those at Cumberland. He is just the second three-time All-American in program history, joining Corey Bleaken (2007, 2009, 2011) with that distinction.

Stewart lost in the national title match at 285, 3-2, to Missouri Valley’s Gabi Musallam. The Kenova, W.Va., native earned his first All-America accolade during his final season, winning three one-point Decisions (one on a tiebreaker) before the finals.

First Team All-Mid-South Conference
125 – Jake Sinkovics, Univ. of the Cumberlands
133 – Davion Caston, Campbellsville Univ.
141 – Daniel Leonard, Lindsey Wilson
149 – Jake Williams, Cumberland Univ.
157 – Joe Cozart, Lindsey Wilson
165 – Oliver Burkhardt, Life Univ.
174 – Travis McIntosh, Campbellsville Univ.
184 – Michael Pixley, Lindsey Wilson
197 – Jake Maupin, Lindsey Wilson
285 – Chico Adams, Lindsey Wilson

Second Team All-Mid-South Conference
125 – James Flint, Lindsey Wilson
133 – Keaton Thomas, Lindsey Wilson
141 – Dillan Schouw, Life Univ.
149 – Isaac Thomas, Lindsey Wilson
157 – Shawn McGhee, Campbellsville Univ.
165 – LJ Henderson, Campbellsville Univ.
174 – Erick Gomez, Lindsey Wilson
184 – Chuck Sharon, Campbellsville Univ.
197 – Nate Knauf, Campbellsville Univ.
285 – Scott Stewart, Cumberland Univ.

Wrestler of the Year: Davion Caston, Campbellsville Univ.
Freshman of the Year: Jake Sinkovics, Univ. of the Cumberlands/Michael Pixley, Lindsey Wilson
Coach of the Year: Corey Ruff, Lindsey Wilson