Six players voted First Team All-MSC
Wednesday, November 7, 2012
Six players voted First Team All-MSC
Lindsay Kitson was one of six CU players voted First Team All-Mid-South Conference. (Credit Steve Wampler)

LEBANON, Tenn. – Cumberland’s Kelsey Langille, Shauna Gilpin, Taylor Nay, Reneé LaRose, Mackenzie Keele and Lindsay Kitson were all voted First Team All-Mid-South Conference and Rhianne Parsons and Simone Quinn both earned Second Team accolades, as announced by the conference office Tuesday night at a banquet before the semifinals and finals of the conference tournament.

Langille was also voted Freshman of the Year and Gavin McKinney earned Co-Coach of the Year honors along with Lindsey Wilson’s Drew Burwash.

Langille leads the nation in seven different scoring categories, including points (78), goals (36), game-winning goals (8), goals per game (2.000), points per game (4.330), shots per game (8.170) and shots on goal per game (4.720). The Ardrossan, Alberta, native has scored at least three goals in a match on six occasions and posted multiple goals in a match 12 times in 18 matches. She netted 20 goals this season against Mid-South Conference opponents and was voted the NAIA National Player of the Week twice during the campaign.

Gilpin is tied for second on the club with 14 goals and ranks third with nine assists for 37 points. The St. John’s, Newfoundland, native has scored in nine matches this season and netted multiple goals on four occasions. She ranks third in the Mid-South in points, tied for fourth in goals and fifth in assists.

Nay leads the nation in assists with 17 and ranks second in assists per game (0.940) after handing out four helpers in this past Saturday’s victory against Shawnee State in the quarterfinals of the MSC Championships. The Sherwood Park, Alberta, native also has seven goals for the Bulldogs.

Kitson has posted a 15-2-0 mark in goal this season for CU, registering 11 shutouts and 44 saves in more than 1,500 total minutes. The Edmonton, Alberta, native has allowed just nine goals in 17 matches for a 0.530 goals-against-average, which ranks 10th nationally.

LaRose and Keele anchor the Bulldog defense as center backs for a group that has given up just 10 total goals in 18 matches. Opponents have taken just 133 shots and Cumberland has posted 11 shutouts. LaRose, a redshirt sophomore from Edmonton, Alberta, has two goals and Keele, a sophomore from Hendersonville, Tenn., has a pair of assists as well.

Parsons is tied for second on the club with 14 goals, including a career-best four scores in this past Saturday’s win versus Shawnee State. The Tavistock, England, native has netted 10 goals in the last eight matches and has added four assists during the year.

Quinn has recorded six goals and six assists from her midfield position this season, including two goals against Shawnee State and three assists versus the University of Rio Grande earlier this season.

Cumberland takes on Campbellsville University at 2:30 p.m. Central Time on Wednesday in the semifinals of the Mid-South Conference Championships.

First Team All-Mid-South Conference
GK – Lindsay Kitson, Cumberland Univ.
GK – Chelsea Schulte, Univ. of Pikeville
D – Elisha Fry, Lindsey Wilson
D – Renee Hurd, Lindsey Wilson
D – Katarina Simic, Lindsey Wilson
D – Mackenzie Keele, Cumberland Univ.
D – Reneé LaRose, Cumberland Univ.
MF – Natasha Gensetter, Lindsey Wilson
MF – Mia Persson, Lindsey Wilson
MF – Saeda Sueki, Lindsey Wilson
MF – Taylor Nay, Cumberland Univ.
MF – Pip Pattison, Bluefield College
F – Shauna Gilpin, Cumberland Univ.
F – Elizabet Madjarac, Lindsey Wilson
F – Laerke Lillelund Michaelsen, Lindsey Wilson
F – Kelsey Langille, Cumberland Univ.
F – Jessica Ralph, Campbellsville Univ.

Player of the Year: Mia Persson, Lindsey Wilson
Freshman of the Year: Kelsey Langille, Cumberland Univ.
Co-Coaches of the Year: Gavin McKinney, Cumberland Univ.; Drew Burwash, Lindsey Wilson

Honorable Mention All-Mid-South Conference
GK – Lindsey Vitson, St. Catharine College
GK – Brandie Hagerman, Campbellsville Univ.
D – Caitlin Williams, Georgetown College
D – Missy Baines, Bluefield College
D – Adrienne Bishop, St. Catharine College
D – Savanna Stephens, Campbellsville Univ.
MF – Sam Amend, Georgetown College
MF – Anna Ayers, Georgetown College
MF – Alessandra Jansen, Georgetown College
MF – Cassie Yannelli, Georgetown College
MF – Simone Quinn, Cumberland Univ.
F – Bea Cameron, Georgetown College
F – Alex Harbowy, Georgetown College
F – Paolo Martinez, St. Catharine College
F – Enajah Winbush, Bluefield College
F – Schuyler Jones, Shawnee State
F – Rhianne Parsons, Cumberland Univ.