Haddock voted MSC Defensive Player of the Year, Bathe garners Freshman of the Year
Wednesday, November 6, 2019
Haddock voted MSC Defensive Player of the Year, Bathe garners Freshman of the Year
Left to Right: Drew Burwash, Sina Cavelti, Sarah Haddock, Marie Bathe


LEBANON, Tenn. – Cumberland’s Sarah Haddock was voted Mid-South Conference Defensive Player of the Year, Marie Bathe earned Freshman of the Year honors and Carla Hager garnered First Team All-MSC accolades, as announced by the league office.

Haddock garnered her second consecutive Defensive Player of the Year award, helping Cumberland allow just 19 goals in 18 matches this season from her centerback position. The Newtonards, Northern Ireland, native has collected six goals and three assists on the year, including two goals against Thomas More in a 2-1 victory. Her main duty is anchoring the CU backline that allowed 1.06 goals per game this season.

Bathe has recorded eight goals and 14 assists in her freshman campaign. She ranks first in the Mid-South in assists and fifth in goals (8). Bathe has been a force at the top for Cumberland drawing extra defenders and has been very good at finding her teammates to finish shots. She leds the conference in points with 30. 

Hager was the beneficiary of many of Bathe's assists netting 10 goals on the year, good enough to rank her second in the conference. Hager netted seven of her goals during conference play with strong outings against Georgetown, Pikeville and Shawnee State. The Gerlafingen, Switzerland native, also collected five assits on the season.

Danisha Brown was voted to the All-Mid South Conference Second team in her first season with the Phoenix after transfering from Neosho County Communitty College. Brown netted five goals, four in conference play, and two assists on the season. She scored the game-winning goal early in the year against Bryan to win, 1-0.

First Team All-Mid-South Conference 
GK – Nicole Panis, University of the Cumberlands
GK – Skylin Yates, Thomas More
F – Marie Bathe, Cumberland University
F – Sina Cavelti, Lindsey Wilson
F – Molly Hall, Campbellsville University
F – Naira Lopez, University of the Cumberlands
F – Alba Lorca, University of the Cumberlands
F – Lakin Walls, Campbellsville
MF – Thea Birgerud, Lindsey Wilson
MF – Sangmin Cha, Campbellsville
MF – Carla Hager, Cumberland University
MF – Emelie Liljered, Lindsey Wilson
MF – Shara Randez, University of the Cumberlands
D – Sarah Haddock, Cumberland University
D – Abby Hutcheson, Thomas More
D – Naia Landaluce, Campbellsville
D – Jordan Stallings, Campbellsville

Second Team All-Mid-South Conference 
GK – Jovana Ivanovic, Lindsey Wilson
GK – Megan Martin, Georgetown
F – Danisha Brown, Cumberland University
F – Jessie Bryson, Campbellsville
F – Libby Miller, Georgetown
F – Olivia Nienaber, Thomas More
MF – Morgan Beare, Thomas More
MF – Ryann Meddings, Thomas More
MF – Laura Navajas, University of the Cumberlands
MF – Amara Safuan, Lindsey Wilson
D – Selena Barnett, University of the Cumberlands
D – Kim DeGroot, Lindsey Wilson
D – Ylwa Toernberg, Lindsey Wilson
D – Emily Willoughby, University of the Cumberlands

Player of the Year: Sina Cavelti, Lindsey Wilson
Defensive Player of the Year: Sarah Haddock, Cumberland University
Freshman of the Year: Marie Bathe, Cumberland
Coach of the Year: Drew Burwash, Lindsey Wilson